Jessica Alba Video Game Love

6 08 2008
Jessica Alba joystick pumping champion

Jessica Alba joystick pumping champion

With the announcement of the new video game New World Disorder, we catch up with Jessica Alba and her views on video games.

What role do you see video games playing today in Hollywood?

It’s all entertainment. It’s all fantasy, It’s a great role-playing experience. I think games play an important role in movies and it’s a way for people to connect to the movie by living vicariously through the characters in the video game. I’ve had a go or two at 007 and there’s a part of me that likes to pretend that I’m Jane Bond, license to thrill, ya get me.

What do you think of what they can do with video games today?

I grew up playing Bomberman and Pac-Man and Super Mario Brothers and Zelda, where you had just this little guy who could barely walk and the music was like doot… doot… doot. But today The graphics are insane. They’re so real, motion capture technology, It’s a similar technology to what we use in Fantastic 4: Rise of the Silver Surfer. We now know how to make films that are completely animated and computer generated, and convincingly real, but hey the old school games, like the way they walked was so stiff and robotic. And now the game characters look like people moving around. But hey I can handle old school or new school, retro to neo its all cool.

Have you seen yourself in the video games you’ve worked on in the past?

Yea sure man, I have checked myself in video games, like in Dark Angel or the first Fantastic Four game. It’s way out there. It doesn’t seem like me, but it is. It’s totally far out. like having an action figure doll. It’s cool man, but it’s like, there’s no way this is for real. They do body scans and motion capture to make the game characters look as like you, to capture you inside the computer. It’s completely cool and yet totally bizarre at the same time.

Did you get a chance to play the games you were in?

Sure I have, I have played both of those video games, but I don’t last very long. I get frustrated, I like my fun to last a little longer, I don’t like striking out at first base, I like to go all the way. I just got myself the Wii and that’s fun. I play all of the Wii Sports games, like baseball, tennis, and bowling. That’s a lot of fun, I love ball sports, you get what I’m saying.

You mentioned recently getting the Nintendo Wii, what do you like about it?

I think the physicality, I’m a physical girl, I love to use my body, I think the Wii gets people off the couch. sitting there playing a video game for hours and never moving your ass, and you’re brain is just like totally zapped from playing the game. But With the Wii, you’re up on your feet and moving around, shaking it baby. The physical aspect of it is great, especially for the kids man. They actually call it the Wii Diet, since players that know how to move it burn calories! Hey, whatever works. However you shake it, its gotta be shaken, Obesity is huge with kids today in the US. Anything that helps beat that is sweet with me. Hey You know, West Virginia is using Dance Dance Revolution in all its schools as part of P.E. routine, I know a lot of public school programs don’t even have P.E. these days, that’s not sweet. That’s off the wall crazy. It wasn’t even an option when I was at school. What the heck! I remember climbing up the rope, doing the mile run and all of that stuff, use it or lose it baby, I love my workouts.

Jessica Alba loves the Nintendo DS so much that she bought one for the whole cast of Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer when they finished filming.

I had my DS on the set of Fantastic Four, it rocked my world so much I bought it for my entire cast when we wrapped. I guess I just felt bad because between takes they’d be chatting, and I’d always have my iPod and my DS with me. It was like total fingernail biting, gripping moments in the movie and then, “Cut!” I’d just pick up my DS and try to beat my 82 age in Brain Age. I’d try to memorize all of those damn words baby, damn its hard, but I’m up for a stiff challenge.

She is pulling your leg! To clarify number 1. She’s an actress, memory is her work; 2. The worst Brain Age is 80.

Jessica Ablba sure loves her video games, I’m sure she will love the new video game sensation New World Disorder

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

